JUSTICE COURT APPEALS

If the amount in controversy, exclusive of costs, **exceeds \$250**, a dissatisfied party may appeal the final judgment to the County Court at law. A bond is required to perfect an appeal. An appeal bond may be posted either by pledging cash or by having two (2) sureties sign a written "oath" where they pledge to be responsible by listing their non-exempt personal property which may be seized and sold to satisfy the bond amount. These bond forms and oaths of sureties are available online or at the court upon request.

SMALL CLAIMS & DEBT CLAIMS

Texas Rules of Civil Procedure

Part V. Rules of Practice in Justice Courts

Rule 506.1

- Bond must be filled within **TWENTY-ONE** (21) days after the judgment is signed.
- A <u>defendant</u> must file a bond in an amount equal to twice the amount of the judgment. The bond must be supported by a surety or sureties approved by the judge. The bond is payable to the appellee and must be conditioned on the appellant's prosecution of its appeal to effect and payment of any judgment and all costs rendered against it on appeal.
- A <u>plaintiff</u> must file **a** \$ 500 bond. The bond is payable to the appellee and must be conditioned on the appellant's prosecution of its appeal to effect and payment of any judgment and all costs rendered against it on appeal.

FILING FEES

The fee to file an appeal with the Justice of the Peace is \$10.00.

The County Clerk requires that the fees in the County Court at Law be paid to the County Clerk within 20 days of appeal. You must contact the County Clerk to determine how much these costs are.

Sworn Statement of Inability to Pay SMALL CLAIMS & DEBT CLAIMS

Texas Rules of Civil Procedure Part V. Rules of Practice in Justice Courts, **Rule 506.1(d)**

Sworn Statement of Inability to Pay may be filed in lieu of required sureties. The statement must meet the requirements of Rule 502.3(b).

Statement must be filed within **TWENTY-ONE** (21) days after the judgment is signed, and may

be contested within **SEVEN** (7) days after the opposing party receives notice that the statement

was filed.

Judge Steve Kennedy P.O. Box 25 <u>skennedy@goliadcountytx.gov</u> Chief Justice Court Clerk <u>jpeuttus@goliadcountytx.gov</u>

Justice of the Peace, Pct Two Goliad, Texas 77963 Market Street Annex Office: 361-645-3320 Fax: 361-645-4120